Chicago City Council Passes Resolutions to Mark Anniversaries of Relationships with Four Sister Cities

Categories: Press Release

2013 Anniversaries to be Celebrated with Milan, Osaka, Birmingham and Vilnius


Today, Chicago City Council passed resolutions to mark the 40 year Sister City anniversaries with Milan, Italy & Osaka, Japan, and the 20 year Sister City anniversaries with Birmingham, United Kingdom & Vilnius, Lithuania. The resolutions were presented to the Consuls General of each country. Mayor Rahm Emanuel was present to congratulate the Consuls General.

Events throughout the year will mark these anniversaries, including special events during the popular Chicago Sister Cities International Festival in Daley Plaza, taking place from August 5–9, 2013.

Since its founding in 1960, Chicago has forged Sister City relationships with a total of 28 Sister Cities, making Chicago Sister Cities International (CSCI) the largest and most active organization of its kind in the United States. Through CSCI, Chicago has built meaningful relationships with 28 cities in 27 countries on 5 continents. These relationships continue to grow and evolve, building on already strong existing ties.

For more information on Chicago Sister Cities International, visit, follow us on Twitter (@ChiSisterCities) or “Like” us on Facebook,


Chicago Sister Cities International

Chicago Sister Cities International provides leadership to develop, manage and coordinate comprehensive programs and projects with Chicago’s sister cities. It aims to increase international trade, promote economic development and support exchanges in the fields of arts and culture, education, health, social services, environment and technology with its sister cities for the benefit of the City of Chicago, its residents and businesses.

Chicago’s 28 sister cities include: Accra, Ghana (1989); Amman, Jordan (2004); Athens, Greece (1997); Belgrade, Serbia (2005); Birmingham, United Kingdom (1993); Bogota, Colombia (2009); Busan, Republic of Korea (2007); Casablanca, Morocco (1982); Delhi, India (2001); Durban, South Africa (1997); Galway, Ireland (1997); Gothenburg, Sweden (1987); Hamburg, Germany (1994); Kyiv, Ukraine (1991); Lahore, Pakistan (2007); Lucerne, Switzerland (1998); Mexico City, Mexico (1991); Milan, Italy (1973); Moscow, Russia (1997); Osaka, Japan (1973); Paris, France (1996); Petach Tikva, Israel (1994); Prague, Czech Republic (1990); Shanghai, China (1985); Shenyang, China (1985); Toronto, Canada (1991); Vilnius, Lithuania (1993); and Warsaw, Poland (1960).

# # #