2014 Chicago Consular Corps Gala

Categories: Chicago Sister City International News,News



CCC-Gala-8-webChicago Sister Cities International and World Business Chicago hosted the annual Chicago Consular Corps Gala: A Tribute to Our Global Partners on the evening of Monday, December 1, 2014, at the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago. The gala’s international guest list included members of the 84 foreign consulates and honorary consulates in Chicago; keynote speaker, The Honorable Penny Pritzker, U.S. Secretary of Commerce; The Honorable Rahm Emanuel, Mayor of the City of Chicago; The Honorable Bruce Rauner, Governor-elect of the State of Illinois; and The Honorable Judy Baar Topinka, Comptroller of the State of Illinois.

CCC-Gala-16-web“This event showcases why Chicago is a global city,” said Jeff Malehorn, president and chief executive officer of World Business Chicago. “We are proud to be the hosts of this event and to honor the consulates, as well as our award winners for their work representing Chicago as an international city.”

The Gala had an attendance of over 600 and raised a total of over $800,000 to support the work of Chicago Sister Cities International and World Business Chicago and fund Chicago Consular Corps scholarships to the University of Illinois at Chicago. The Gala showed a significant increase in attendance and doubled its funds raised in 2014 over 2013. Chicago Sister Cities International and World Business Chicago doubled their contribution to the Chicago Consular Corps and their scholarship fund at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Secretary Pritzker’s remarks can be read here: www.commerce.gov/news/secretary-speeches/2014/12/02/chicago-consular-corps-ball-remarks.

CCC-Gala-19-webThis year, the Chicago Consular Corps honored Glenn Tilton, Retired Chairman of the Board, United Continental Holdings, Inc., with the prestigious Global Citizen Award, which honors an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to Chicago’s international reputation, stature and global reach.

In addition, for the first time World Business Chicago and Chicago Sister Cities International recognized contributions made by members of Chicago’s corporate and civic communities with three inaugural awards to be given out on an annual basis. The Corporate Ambassador Award was presented to Exelon and ComEd; the Global Innovator Award was presented to Signal; and Yoko Noge Dean, Chair of the Osaka Committee of Chicago Sister Cities International, was presented with the Chicago Sister Cities International Volunteer of the Year Award.

CCC-Gala-1webMayor Rahm Emanuel and Ms. Amy Rule & Consul General Patricia Maza-Pittsford and Mr. Philip Pittsford served as Honorary Chairs for the Gala.

Gala co-hosts were Melissa Bean, Chairman of the Midwest, JPMorgan Chase & Co.; Lester Crown, Chairman, Henry Crown and Company; Richard A. Gonzalez, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, AbbVie; Michael J. Sacks, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, GCM Grosvenor and Vice-Chairman, World Business Chicago; Samuel C. Scott III, Chairman, Chicago Sister Cities International; and Miles D. White, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Abbott and last year’s Global Citizen Award honoree.



Platinum Sponsors



BlueCross BlueShield of Illinois
Caterpillar Inc.
Horizon Pharma plc
McDonald’s Corporation
PNC Bank
Larry D. Richman
The PrivateBank
Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Foundation


Ariel Investments, LLC
Baxter International Inc.
BMO Harris Bank
Chapman & Cutler LLP
China Committee of Chicago Sister Cities International
Cushman & Wakefield
Dassault Systemes –The 3DEXPERIENCE® Company
DLA Piper LLP (US)
Janet and Craig Duchossois
Ernst & Young LLP
Fifth Third Bank
General Electric
Ingredion Incorporated
Jenner & Block
Jones Day
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Locke Lord LLP
Madison Dearborn Partners
Mesirow Financial
Morgan Stanley
Northwestern Medicine
NOW Health Group, Inc.
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Smita Shah
Delhi Committee at CSCI
Sidley Austin LLP
James H.M. Sprayregen
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Robert and Marie Weissbourd
Wells Fargo Bank
William Blair & Co
Winston & Strawn LLP